2016 FDM everywoman in Technology Awards: finalists announced


34 women recognised for changing the face of technology in the UK are named today as finalists in the sixth annual FDM everywoman in Technology Awards in association with techUK. These women have been selected from a field of hundreds of applicants, chosen by a panel of senior technology leaders against criteria including career achievement, future potential and their commitment to supporting others in the industry. The winners will be revealed at an Awards ceremony on the evening of 23 February 2016 in London.

Britain’s technology economy is booming, taking up more than 10% of UK’s GDP and predicted to be in need of 1.2 million new digital workers by 2022*, opportunities for women in technology and demand for their talents continues to grow. Not just in enterprise, but every growth business across all industry sectors is looking for technology talent, which is why these Awards are so vital in uncovering role models who will inspire more young women to seek a career in technology. Even more encouraging is the fact that women are now considered the largest “emerging market”, ahead of China and India, as more and more enter the workforce, creating a larger pool of fresh talent**.  

Over 500 industry leaders, government and the media will join the celebrations at the London Hilton on Park Lane, to find out who has won the 2016 Awards. These Awards champion and raise the profile of the individual women that are achieving success in their field, and the companies that are supporting them to do so.

The finalists for 2016 are:

Start-up Founder Award

This is awarded to the most inspirational female founder of a start-up business (under 18 months old).

Jelena Aleksic, CEO and co-founder, GeneAdviser
Stella James, MD, Gooseberry Planet Ltd
Georgina Nelson, Group CEO and Founder, truRating


Entrepreneur Award– Sponsored by ARM

This is awarded to an owner/operator of a technology business whose vision and talent will inspire others to start their own technology related venture.

Lucinda Carney, CEO, Advance Change
Saija Mahon, Founder, CEO, Mahon Digital Marketing
Thayer Prime, CEO and Founder, Team Prime Consulting


Innovator Award – Sponsored by Equiniti

This is awarded to a woman designing, developing, researching, implementing or being exceptionally creative with technology in an unconventional and innovative way.

Tania Boler, Founder and CEO, Chiaro
Zoe Farrington, CEO, Realsafe Technologies
Carole Mundell, Professor of Extragalactic Astronomy and Head of Astrophysics, University of Bath


Team Leader Award – Sponsored by Asda

This is awarded to a woman whose team leadership has greatly contributed to the organisation’s success. She is leading a team of up to 100 employees.

Maxine Bulmer, Cyber Security Manager, CGI
Vanessa Hackett, Engineering Director, American Express
Jots Sehmbi, Director of IT Service Strategy & Improvement, UCL


Leader Award – Sponsored by BP

This will be awarded to the woman operating in a senior technology role within her organisation.

Charlotte Baldwin, SVP, Chief Technology Officer, Core, Pearson
Paula Constant, Field Director, Openreach
Pravina Ladva, Chief Information Officer, Barclays Partner Finance & Global Commercial Payments, Barclaycard


International Leader Award – Sponsored by Fujitsu

This is awarded to a woman, based outside the UK, who is operating in a senior technology role within an organisation.

Cheryl Daniels, Director of Planning & Lifecycle Management, BP
Keit Kollo, European Director, StartupBus EMEA
Janhavi Rao, Head of Compliance Technology, Barclays


Inspiration Award – Sponsored by VMware

This is awarded to an individual, male or female, for their active commitment to encouraging, advancing, sponsoring or championing the progress of women working in technology.

Dr. Carol Marsh, Electronics International Design Process Lead, Finmeccanica Airborne & Space Systems Division
Alysia Silberg, Co-Founder & COO, Acceleforce LLC
Dr Alison Vincent, Chief Technology Officer, Cisco UK & Ireland


Rising Star Award – Sponsored by American Express

This is awarded to a woman aged under 26 who is excelling in her technology career, making a valuable contribution to her organisation.

Megan Castleton, Web Developer, Yard
Jessica Leigh Jones, Engineer, Sony UK Technology Centre
Kimberley Norris, Systems Engineer, Finmeccanica


The One to Watch Award – sponsored by EMC

This is awarded to an individual aged under 20 who is actively encouraging girls to study STEM subjects at school-level.

Joana Baptista, School Student
Yasmin Bey, School Student
Nayana Dasgupta, School Student
Risha Jindal, University Student


Finalists for new 2016 categories are:

Digital Star Award – sponsored by CGI

This is awarded to a woman making the most of the internet and digital technology.

Amanda Follit, Head of Digital Operations Services, Amaze Ltd
Sharon Jennings, Lead Email Developer, CACI Ltd
Shivvy Jervis, Creator-Producer, Digital Futures & The Trailblazers and Head of Digital Media, Telefonica


Engineer Award – sponsored by Alexander Mann Solutions

Awarded to a woman who has made a significant difference to the art of engineering.

Beatriz Escartin-Claveria, Systems Engineer, Alstom
Gemma James, Senior Civil Structures Engineer, Arup
Emma Thomas, M&E Engineering & Support Senior Engineer, Virgin Media

Maxine Benson MBE, co-founder of everywoman comments:  “We launched these awards six years ago to uncover the women doing amazing things in technology – women who were not necessarily known within their wider business let alone outside their company or the industry. By showcasing their talents and achievements, we are demonstrating the diversity of opportunity the industry offers so that more women will be inspired to bring their talents to it. Each year the judges are overwhelmed by the quality of the finalists, and 2016 is no exception; their hard work, determination and positive influence on others is staggering, and we wish them all the best at the awards ceremony next month.”

Sheila Flavell, chief operating officer of title sponsor FDM Group states: “FDM is delighted to continue working with everywoman in an effort to support, recognise and promote women in tech. Diversity in the workplace is fundamental to business growth and success; it drives innovation, facilitates communication and improves diversity of thought amongst other benefits. FDM is leading by example in the industry and works hard to promote a gender -balanced workforce at all levels. Our dedicated Women in IT campaign is our way of showcasing our continued commitment to driving gender diversity in the workplace globally, encouraging more and more women to pursue a career in tech.”

Julian David, CEO of techUK adds: “techUK is once again delighted to support the FDM everywoman in Technology Awards. Attracting appropriately skilled employees continues to be one of the biggest challenges facing the UK tech sector and we need a greater representation of the working population to join UK tech companies and help support continued sector growth. In particular, we need to work hard to attract smart, skilled women who are not currently attracted to the industry and communicate the breadth of career opportunities in tech that are open to all. techUK remains committed to attracting great women to the sector, retaining them and helping them to flourish and succeed.”

The 2016 FDM everywoman in Technology Awards ceremony and dinner will take place on 23 February 2016 at the London Hilton on Park Lane preceded by the everywoman Technology Forum – the largest UK forum for women in technology, a day of inspiration, learning and development, bringing together over 600 women who are aspiring to advance their careers or become future leaders.