everywoman in Travel Awards 2019 winners

Woman of the year

Komal Tekchandani, Head of IT and Business Change at Heathrow



Disruptor Award

Sponsored by Celebrity Cruises – Awarded to a woman who is challenging the status quo, in an unconventional and innovative way. *NEW FOR 2019*

Deborah Potts, Founding Director of Summit Advisory (Part of the Elman Wall Group) from London

Helena Beard, Founder and Managing Director at China Travel Outbound from Brighton

Merilee Karr, Founder and CEO at UnderTheDoormat from London


Above and beyond award 

Sponsored by Avis Budget Group – Awarded to a woman at any stage of her career that has truly gone above and beyond her role to help drive the organisation's success.

Jean Cook, Depot Administrator at Great Western Railway from Bristol

Cristina Muñoz, Senior Brand Partnerships Manager at Cunard from Southampton

Danielle Grant, HR Manager at Royal Caribbean Cruises Limited from London


Entrepreneur Award

Awarded to an owner/operator of a travel business that has been operating for three years or more whose vision will inspire other women to start their own enterprise.

Karen Ross, Founder & Director at In2Action from Isle of Wight

Alice Todd, Cofounder and Managing Director at SwimQuest Holidays from London

Wendy Shand, Founding Director of Tots to Travel from Stamford


Executive Leader Award

Sponsored by Olympic Holidays – Awarded to a woman whose team leadership has greatly contributed to the organisation’s success.

Sara Pastor, Managing Director, Destinations, EMEA at ADARA from Barcelona

Cherie Richards, Commercial Director at The Global Travel Group from Sandycroft

Kay Harriman, Senior HR Director UK & Ireland, Human Resources Europe at Hilton from Watforde


International Inspiration Award

Sponsored by Gold Medal/Travel2 – Awarded to a woman working outside the UK & Ireland that is a role model for women in her community.

Indira Gurung, Treasurer of the Executive Board at SASANE from Nepal

Captain Kate McCue, Master Captain at Celebrity Cruises

Zina Bencheikh, Regional General Manager EMENA – PEAK DMC at Intrepid Group from Marrakech


Leader of Change Award

Sponsored by Hilton – Awarded to a woman who is making a significant contribution towards the strategic direction of the business through best practices, employee engagement, improved productivity and innovation.

Lisa Henning, Chief Operating Officer at The Travel Network Group from Woking

Komal Tekchandani, Head of IT Business Change at Heathrow from London

Lorraine Quinn, Head of Sales, Ireland at Celebrity Cruises UK from Dublin

Paula Ellis, Group General Manager at Retreats Group Ltd from St. David’s


Male Agent of Change Award

Awarded to a man for his active commitment to advancing the progress of women working in travel.

Sean Collins, CEO of Thames Clippers from London

Abubakar Siddeeq, Head of Customer Proposition at Great Western Railway from London

Ben Bengougam, SVP Human Resources at Hilton from Watford

Derek Jones, CEO at Der Touristik UK from London

Darren Cook, Vice President Engineering Operations EMEA at Hilton from Watford


One to Watch

Sponsored by TripAdvisor – Awarded to a young game-changer under the age of 25 in education or apprenticeship who demonstrates a passion for the travel industry.

Ana Seidi, Former Student at Leeds Beckett University from Leeds

Asvitha Selvarajah, Accounts Supervisor at AC Group from London

Daymer Eshelby, International Tourism Managment Student at University of Derby from Buxton


Team Leader

Sponsored by Heathrow – Awarded to a woman whose team leadership has greatly contributed to the organisation’s success.

Joanna Athanasiou, Senior Director RMCC Europe at Hilton from Watford

Asher Prower, Project Manager at Gatwick Airport from London

Tolene Van der Merwe, Director of Tourism, Malta Tourism from London


Tomorrow's Leader

Sponsored by TTG Media – Awarded to a woman under 30 making a significant contribution to the sector.

Hayley Goddard, UK&I Resourcing Manager, Thomas Cook from Peterborough

Anna Ganthaler, Lead consultant on Strategy and Business Transformation, TUI, London

Evlynne Smith, UK Digital Lead for Travel and Transport, IBM from London


Pioneer of the Year

A special recognition Award to honour a female travel pioneer whose wanderlust has inspired others to broaden their travel horizons. This particular category is voted by Telegraph Readers, and the winner of the Award is selected by the public vote.

Susannah Cery, Blogger and Founder of Our Travels Tribe